Some quick updates before I post something of actual merit

sorry

There are an awful lot of highly unhelpful things I could say at this point.  Things somewhere along the lines of “well who’d have thought it would take me so long to post this.”  Or “well look at that, it’s been almost two weeks longer than the almost a month longer than the time I thought it would actually take to get this post up.”  But I’m not going to say those now.

As much as I love blogging, it is still writing, and writing is work.  Pleasurable work?  Yes, but work nonetheless.  At the end of many of my short-in-hours but long-in-exhaustion days what I need is time to decompress.  Formal writing is not a way to decompress.  (Journaling, quick poem scribbling, daydreaming, planning blog posts, starting to write said blog posts, outlining short stories, all of the above are writing-related ways of decompressing, but they’re not really writing).  So I’m not going to be apologetic or cynically self-critical here- there’s no room for shame in writing (and therefore in blogging), and there’s certainly no room for shame in taking a break when you genuinely need it.

That being said, I do genuinely want to get these posts written and up, because they’re bouncing around my head and piling up on top of me all at once.  So here’s a rough posting schedule:

Living Life in a Language I Hardly Speak
Up by: As soon as possible (tomorrow, I swear)

Dresden and Hamburg
Up by: Never. Cancelled.  Not happening.  (the pictures will be included in a later post about Germany)

Paris
Up by: Tuesday

Brussels
Up by: Friday

Amsterdam
Up by: Monday the 26th

Die Deutsch Erlebnis (The German Life- not wedded to this title, but I needed a space holder)
Up by: Friday of the same week

My Visit to France (this hasn’t happened yet folks, but I’m spending a week in the French countryside after this week ends and I’m really, thoroughly excited)
Up by: the end of May

On Culture Shock
Up by: June 1st

Snapshots of Germany (Photos and a few short phrases about my touristy adventures, see here the Hamburg/Dresden photos, among others)
Up by: June 5th

One last post about my life in Germany and what I’m doing with myself
Up by: when I leave (June 10th)

For those of you who are wondering exactly what I’m doing at the moment, the next post will clear that up.  But in short: I’m living in a small town outside of Stuttgart, Germany and am studying German for six hours a day, every week day.  It’s exhausting and mind-boggling, but undeniably, unbelievably worthwhile.  Thanks for your interest in my adventures, and sorry (because it turns out that even if there is no room for shame in blogging, I’m still apologetic) for taking so long to write more.

About Helen (etaunknown)

An undergrad at the University of British Columbia, studying Anthropology and all the kinds of history they didn't teach me in school (concentrations in Indigenous and Environmental History(s)), my blogs are mainly places where I talk about academia, travel, and writing. I've been blogging in one form or another for the last 7 years, from angsty teenage poetry (no, I won't link you to that particular blog) to thoughts on religion, books, music and academia. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and while I use my two main wordpress blogs as places to post a lot of my writing, I'm also busily at work on a novel (or three), some longer narrative essays, some short stories and as ever, some poetry. If you want to know more, please email me at etaunknownwrites@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Housekeeping Notes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.