It’s High Time We Got Serious Here, or, Updates and Upcoming Posts

Okay, so I keep kicking myself for not running a serious blog, and while I know that I’ll need to start posting once I’m traveling in the New Year, one thing I do not want this blog to be is a travel blog.  That would set a precedent accompanied with obligations I don’t wish to have.

So, as I have some time on my hands, upcoming posts may include:

“How to Get Good Free Music, or, How To Pay as Much for Your Music as Emily White Without Breaking the Law”

“Why You Should Try to Eat Vegan, or, Healthy Food for Dummies”

“Shampoo-free Tricks for the Sensible Woman, or, Baking Soda is Good for Lots and Lots of Stuff”

and anything that current world or Canadian news sparks for me- possibly regarding the upcoming American elections, or the current unrest in the Muslim world due to Innocence of Muslims in the northern Lebanese city of Tripoli.

These are just a few ideas I’m working towards, and I’m sure others will occur to me shortly.

In other news, the embarrassingly angsty teenaged posts will be relegated to my journal or scrap paper from here on out.  I apologize for that, and also for the fact that I’m leaving it up.  Please bear with me, it remains as a reminder for why I won’t be doing it again.

Stay tuned.

About Helen (etaunknown)

An undergrad at the University of British Columbia, studying Anthropology and all the kinds of history they didn't teach me in school (concentrations in Indigenous and Environmental History(s)), my blogs are mainly places where I talk about academia, travel, and writing. I've been blogging in one form or another for the last 7 years, from angsty teenage poetry (no, I won't link you to that particular blog) to thoughts on religion, books, music and academia. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and while I use my two main wordpress blogs as places to post a lot of my writing, I'm also busily at work on a novel (or three), some longer narrative essays, some short stories and as ever, some poetry. If you want to know more, please email me at etaunknownwrites@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Mostly for Myself and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s High Time We Got Serious Here, or, Updates and Upcoming Posts

  1. Since you are an artist, Helen, I wouldn’t worry about a regular posting schedule. Art takes the time it takes. Post it when you’re inspired to.

  2. Merilyn says:

    It’s exhausting to search out educated folks on this subject, but you sound like you recognize what you’re speaking about! Thanks

  3. Thanks Mikey! I’m with you on that one, but I’m actually feeling pretty inspired about these upcoming ones. There’ll be a post today or tomorrow though about an advertisement I’ve just seen in a woman’s magazine which has me a bit irked. But yeah, no regular schedule for me, just an effort to post more frequently!

  4. Michael says:

    How about a blog highlighting the pros and cons of religion and how it positively, or negatively, affects certain countries of places?

  5. I actually find that one difficult to comment on, Michael, because of cultural differences. I’m hoping to study Anthropology and Social Psychology because of my interest in the difficulties of judging or understanding a culture when one is part of another. The truth of the matter is that it’s easy as someone from the west to say “this aspect of that other culture is bad, while this aspect is good,” but it’s very difficult to have a genuinely informed opinion on the matter. When religion is resulting in death or oppression, it’s a problem, sure, but there are always many other factors involved. Especially considering that religion is almost never the root of the problem, and misinterpretation of religion to suit people’s aims is. I might talk a bit about religion and how it impacts the west, as it’s reasonable (in my opinion) for me to voice my thoughts, but I think I’ll shy away from talking about other cultures until I’ve done some more serious research while within those countries’ borders or by talking to recent immigrants who live in North America.

  6. I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome blog!

    • I’d love to have guest writers, but I’m not yet sure about the logistics of it. I think I’d certainly have to read posts and determine whether or not I agreed with them before they were posted, and I don’t know about regular guest writers, because I do want this (in some ways) to be a personal blog. I have some travel plans for the next year, and would really like to write about my travels. Otherwise, I’d love to have other people posting stuff. If you’d be interested, please email me at etaunknownwrites@gmail.com

Comments are closed.