I’m taking a break

Today is the first of September, a date which for many students across this country marks the beginning of a new year.  Some return to another year of school, some to a new year somewhere else.  For most of my graduating class today marks the beginning of their lives as university students.

Me?  I’m taking a break.

Today marks the beginning of a year spent learning not with head but with heart.  A years worth of AP studies taught me many things, chief among them that thinking too much makes me miserable, even if I am fantastically good at it.  The artist in me is not content with mere intellectuality.  While intellect certainly has a place in my life, and, I’m sure, will play a large role in my future, this year I pledge to leave it behind me, as much as possible.

I will read books which provoke empathy before reason.

I will learn languages.

I will travel, marvel and wonder.

I will be thankful for what comes my way, good or otherwise.

I will sketch, paint, and most importantly, write.

Ultimately, it’s time for me to learn to simply live, rather than philosophize about living.

So I’m taking a break, from school, but not from learning.  And certainly not from living.

About Helen (etaunknown)

An undergrad at the University of British Columbia, studying Anthropology and all the kinds of history they didn't teach me in school (concentrations in Indigenous and Environmental History(s)), my blogs are mainly places where I talk about academia, travel, and writing. I've been blogging in one form or another for the last 7 years, from angsty teenage poetry (no, I won't link you to that particular blog) to thoughts on religion, books, music and academia. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and while I use my two main wordpress blogs as places to post a lot of my writing, I'm also busily at work on a novel (or three), some longer narrative essays, some short stories and as ever, some poetry. If you want to know more, please email me at etaunknownwrites@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Etc., Mostly for Myself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.