On Email Sign Offs

Ever since I began using email for more academic and professional reasons, I’ve struggled with knowing how to sign off.  Do I use a simple “thank you,” or do I offer “kind regards”?  What about warm ones?  Can I send “blessings” to people without seeming overtly religious?  Well?  Those weren’t rhetorical questions.

In all honesty, I think this will be something I struggle with for a very long time, possibly forever.  The problem with signing off to an email is that there isn’t a simple formula for how to do it.  It’s email, for goodness sake- not a written, posted letter!  You can be too formal, and yet, sometimes you can’t.  But emails between friends always seem to end awkwardly without a “yours truly” of some sort towards the end.  (And gracious, that sounds syrupy)  So what’s the verdict: how formal is too formal, how sickly sweet is overdoing it?  I’m still not sure.  But for now, cheers and ciao.  TTFN, I’ll see you around.  Warmest regards, I’m overdoing it with style and a grin.  Goodbye.

Helen.

About Helen (etaunknown)

An undergrad at the University of British Columbia, studying Anthropology and all the kinds of history they didn't teach me in school (concentrations in Indigenous and Environmental History(s)), my blogs are mainly places where I talk about academia, travel, and writing. I've been blogging in one form or another for the last 7 years, from angsty teenage poetry (no, I won't link you to that particular blog) to thoughts on religion, books, music and academia. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and while I use my two main wordpress blogs as places to post a lot of my writing, I'm also busily at work on a novel (or three), some longer narrative essays, some short stories and as ever, some poetry. If you want to know more, please email me at etaunknownwrites@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Etc., Mostly for Myself and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Email Sign Offs

  1. atelian33 says:

    I always go with All the best.

    All the best,

    Adam

Comments are closed.