Excuse me, But I have important things to do.

It’s Wednesday and there are a thousand things I’m supposed to be doing.  I could be taking a test.  Or writing a paper.  Updating my physical activity log (which I need, as I intend to graduate this June) or filing my income taxes.  I ought to be scheduling appointments and learning how to say important things like “The sugar is always sweet,” and “this is a stove,” or “this baby isn’t very strong,” in three different languages.  I have no money.  I’m broke.  I should probably be working, updating my resume and looking for another job. I could even clean my room.

But excuse me, I have more important things to do.  I’d like to play some video games.  Or go for a walk, camera in hand.  I want to take pictures of the snow!  I’d rather look at clothes I can’t buy (no money, remember?) and stare at my desktop.  I’m about to make a cup of cocoa, take the sheets off my bed to wash and make a list of things I must urgently purchase, all the while planning a trip to Quebec.

You’re lucky, you know?  You just happened to catch me going out the door for a walk in the snow on my two hour lunch break.

About Helen (etaunknown)

An undergrad at the University of British Columbia, studying Anthropology and all the kinds of history they didn't teach me in school (concentrations in Indigenous and Environmental History(s)), my blogs are mainly places where I talk about academia, travel, and writing. I've been blogging in one form or another for the last 7 years, from angsty teenage poetry (no, I won't link you to that particular blog) to thoughts on religion, books, music and academia. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and while I use my two main wordpress blogs as places to post a lot of my writing, I'm also busily at work on a novel (or three), some longer narrative essays, some short stories and as ever, some poetry. If you want to know more, please email me at etaunknownwrites@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Etc. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.